Skip to main content

Figure of Ox

8th century
Artist/maker unknown, Chinese
The Chinese have long associated specific animals with each year in a twelve-year cycle. This figure is part of a full set of twelve animals—arranged in the traditional Chinese order of right to left—including the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, chicken, dog, and pig.

Object Details

We are always open to learning more about our collections and updating the website. Does this record contain inaccurate information or language that you feel we should improve or change? Contact us here.

Please note that this particular artwork might not be on view when you visit. Don’t worry—we have plenty of exhibitions for you to explore.